BLOODY APRIL ERRATA
updated 031022
BLOODY APRIL Addenda compiled by: Richard Berg, Jim Bowman, Eric Goldberg, 
Tom Hudson, Paul Stevens, Nick Karp..  
Addenda As of December 1979
MAP
  - Hexes A2812 and B1142 should be infantry encampments.
 
  - Hex A2321 should be a cavalry encampment.
 
  - Hex B0546 should be an artillery encampment.
 
  - There should be no encampments in hexes A2223. A2419 and B0824
 
  - The Casualty Tracks' indication of "1000's" should be"100's.'.
 
COUNTERS
We seem to have short-changed you a bunch of "Ammo Available'. markers 
  by oversight. Sorry.
DEPLOYMENT
  - Union 
    
      - 13 Iowa(1/1/T) deploys in B0625/1.
 
      - 9 Illinois deploys in BI033/6, not B1023.
 
      - The 15 Michigan and 16 Iowa are correctly deployed in non-encampment 
        hexes (see 6.48, below)
 
    
   
  - Confederate
    
      - The unit in A0605 should be the 19th Louisiana.
 
      - McClung's Battery enters with the Reserve Corps.
 
    
   
RULES
  - [4.0. Abbreviated Sequence of Play] (important clarification) The Abbreviated 
    Sequence contradicts the actual rules. The Confederate Player is always the 
    first player. The Union Alert Phase belongs at the beginning of the Second 
    (Union) Player-Turn.
 
  - [5.12] (correction) A unit may enter a hex containing an Enemy unit only 
    during the Friendly Melee Phase
 
  - [5.4] (correction) The rule contradicts the text of the Terrain Effects 
    on Movement Chart (5.5): the chart is correct, so the die-roll necessary to, 
    fix a broken down wagon or gun is 1-4.
 
  - [5.5. Terrain Effects Chart] (addition) There are two fords on the map The 
    Ford over Owl Creek (B0914) is treated as if it were a bridge The ford across 
    hexes A2847 and A2947 is a special case. It may be crossed only by mounted 
    cavalry (+4 MPs) or infantry in column (+3 MPs). For purposes of melee it, 
    is treated as if it were a bridge.
 
  - [6.42] (correction) The reference should be to Case 18.26.
 
  - [6.48] (important clarification) The Union 16th Iowa and 15th Michigan. 
    as well as any reinforcements arriving before 0900 are not encamped: these 
    may be moved as per Case 16.15(4). These units are not checked for stragglers 
    until they reach their assigned officer's Command Radius, or starting with 
    0900, whichever comes first.
 
  - [7.47] (omission) A unit may always move through a Prone unit (at no extra 
    Movement Point cost). However, if a unit ends its movement in a hex with a 
    Prone unit it, too, must fall Prone.
 
  - [8.16] (clarification) Example 2, line 4: The first word should be "of".
 
  - [8.21] (omission) The following diagram delineates the fields of fire (i.e., 
    the hexes into which a unit may fire when firing through a particular hexside) 
    of each of the three frontal hex-sides.
 
  
 
  - [8.42] (clarification) Case 8.41 still applies when determining which infantry 
    unit(s) may fire.
 
  - [9.26] (important omission) The range effects for shotguns are as follows:
 
  - Weapon Maximum 1 2 3 4 5 S (Shotguns) 1 hex 3 - - - -
 
  - [9.44] (correction) Ignore the reference to Case 9.43
 
  - [9.57] (clarification) It is important that this Case be careful1y read, 
    as most arti1lery fire is governed by it. Given the predominant terrain types 
    on the map most artillery fire would seem to be blocked (no LOS) by woods 
    or swamp. This Case enables artillery batteries to fire through such terrain 
    in most instances. If such a battery is at higher elevation than the target
 
  - [9.86] (addition) Once a pinned unit is meleed, it becomes unpinned. Remove 
    the Pin marker from that unit.
 
  - [10.12] (clarification) When a unit triggers Withdrawal Fire it may be fired 
    at once by every eligible Enemy unit. There is no limit to the number of Enemy 
    units which may fire at a withdrawing unit (provided each Enemy unit is eligible). 
    A single Enemy unit may perform Withdrawal Fire as many times as there are 
    Friendly units which trigger such fire.
 
  - [10.13] (correction) The reference should be to Case 8.22.
 
  - [10.17] (clarification) A Friendly unit may be interposed between an Enemy 
    unit and a Friend1y artillery battery (thus blocking the Enemy unit's LOS) 
    during movement before that battery changes formation, preventing fire by 
    the Enemy unit per this Case.
 
  - [10.3] (correction) The reference should be to Case 11.26.
 
  - [11.21] (clarification) Only a cavalry or an infantry unit may capture a 
    supply wagon.
 
  - [11.24] (clarification) The first sentence after "1", "2", 
    etc. should read "Unit loses 10% of its Ammunition Points times Casualty 
    Point number (round down)".
 
  - [11.28] (omission) Resupply of units occurs before rally during the Final 
    Command Phase (see Sequence of Play checklist, below). Units may not be resupplied 
    in the same Phase that they are rallied
 
  - [11.8] (addition) CAPTURING SUPPLY WAGONS
 
  - Wagons in danger of being captured may use a form of movement called reaction. 
    Reaction occurs in an Enemy Movement Phase as a result of movement towards 
    the wagon by an Enemy cavalry or infantry unit.
 
  - [11.81] A Supply Wagon may react only if it is either the sole unit in its 
    hex, is stacked with other supply wagon units only, or is stacked with a combat 
    unit of one Strength Point value (there may also be supply wagon units present 
    in such a stack).
 
  - [11.82] At any time during an Enemy Movement Phase that an Enemy cavalry 
    or infantry unit moves into a hex adjacent to that of a supply wagon which 
    may react, the Non-Phasing Player may attempt reaction and move his wagon 
    (on1y) away.
 
  - [11.83] Procedure
 
  - The non-Phasing Player consults the Wagon Reaction Table (11.89) and rolls 
    one die. The result is the number of hexes that wagon may move - if any.
 
  - [11.84] If the result on the table is "May Not Move", reaction 
    may not be attempted for that wagon again during the same turn.
 
  - [11.85] A reacting wagon may not enter an Enemy ZOC, nor may it enter a 
    terrain type forbidden to it or cross a hexside ravine. After the wagon reacts, 
    the Enemy unit may continue movement, if it has Movement Points remaining. 
    (This is an exception to the rule that once a unit stops moving it has finished 
    movement.) If any Enemy unit moves adjacent to the wagon again, the wagon 
    may use reaction again, ad infinitum. There is no limit to the number of times 
    a Player may roll for reaction for a given wagon during a Phase. though a 
    result of "May Not Move" prevents further use of the table during 
    the turn.
 
  - [11.86] If the Enemy unit which causes reaction moves adjacent to the wagon 
    from a hex to which the wagon could not trace a LOS, add one to the die-roll. 
    If the wagon is stacked with a combat unit, add one to the die-roll. Rolls 
    greater than "6" are treated as a "6".
 
  - [11.87] If a wagon uses reaction, it may not be used for supply in the ensuing 
    Friendly Player-Turn.
 
  - [11.88] If a stack consisting of both infantry and cavalry units moves adjacent 
    to a wagon unit, the non-Phasing Player rolls on the cavalry column of the 
    Wagon Reaction Table.
 
  - [11.89] Wagon Reaction Table
 
  - Moving Enemy Unit Is...
 
  -  
    
       
        | DIE | 
        Cavalry | 
        Infantry | 
      
       
        | 1 | 
        2 | 
        3 | 
      
       
        | 2 | 
        2 | 
        2 | 
      
       
        | 3 | 
        1 | 
        2 | 
      
       
        | 4 | 
        1 | 
        2 | 
      
       
        | 5 | 
        MNM | 
        1 | 
      
       
        | 6 | 
        MNM | 
        MNM | 
      
       
        # = Number of hexes which 
            wagon must be retreated; and MNM = May Not Move.  | 
      
    
   
  - [12.13] (correction) The reference should be to Case 17.2.
 
  - [12.51] (correction) The reference should be to Case 12.95.
 
  - [13.35] (clarification) Any additions to a die-roll of "6" are 
    treated as a "6," subtractions from "1" as "1". 
    This applies throughout the game to single-die ro11s.
 
  - [13.41] (correction) The reference should be to Case 12.93. (clarification) 
    Units that are not rallied during the Final Command Phase (and thus remain 
    routed) do not have to retreat three hexes.
 
  - [14.3] (clarification) If a unit retreats into a hex occupied by a Friendly 
    unit which subsequently routs. Retreat Fire may be directed against only the 
    unit which initially occupied the hex.
 
  - [14.4] (correction) Ignore the reference to Case 12.93.
 
  - [15.2] (important change) When rolling for stragglers during movement use 
    two dice; if the roll is "11' or "12," straggling occurs. (clarification) 
    Green(?) units straggle during movement only if they are still green or if 
    their assigned Morale Rating is "1" or "2".
 
  - [15.34] (clarification) This applies only to combat (not movement).
 
  - [15.42] (omission) If a Confederate unit is in a Union camp hex, it does 
    not have to move into an adjacent Union camp hex. (Many Union camps are adjacent 
    to one 'another.) If a Confederate unit loots a camp, but does not gather 
    ammo during the next Game-Turn, that hex is sti1l depleted. See Case 15.47.
 
  - [15.43] (clarification) For the purposes of this rule only, treat green 
    units as if they had a Morale Rating of "l'.
 
  - [15.47] (clarification) The mechanics of depleting a camp carries over two 
    Game-Turns. The Confederate unit loots during the turn it enters the camp. 
    Should the unit remain in the hex by the Final Command Phase of the next Game-Turn. 
    ammunition depletion is rolled. (omission) If a Confederate unit occupies 
    a Union camp hex other Confederate units are not obligated to move into that 
    camp hex. Player's Note: If a Confederate unit without many Strength Points 
    is placed in a Union camp hex, it can perform "guard duty" by preventing 
    other Confederate units from entering the camp-.
 
  - [16.11] (clarification) Case 13.62(1) is an exception to this rule.
 
  - [16.12] (correction) The reference should be to Case 5.17. (addition) A 
    unit that is out of Command Radius at which fire is directed during the Enemy 
    Defensive Fire Phase may fire in the following Offensive Fire Phase at the 
    unit (or units) that fired at it.
 
  - [16.18] {addition) A brigade officer may have his Command Radius increased 
    by only one commander at any time.
 
  - [17.6] {clarification) The term "contact" means to be in a hex 
    adjacent to that of an Enemy unit. (change) A cavalry unit may move outside 
    the six- hex radius after another unit in their brigade makes contact; however, 
    that cavalry unit has a Movement Allowance of six until it spots (LOS) an 
    Enemy unit. It is strongly urged that Players use this rule; it is optional 
    only because it is somewhat artificial. The rule counteracts the Player's 
    hindsight of the terrain.
 
  - [18.21] (clarification) The Movement Allowances for guns are listed on the 
    Charts and Tables Sheet (2.4).
 
  - [19.6] (addition) A MODERATELY SIMPLE FATIGUE RULE
 
  - COMMENTARY:
 
  - This rule is for those who do not want to do much bookkeeping. but are not 
    satisfied with the realism of Case 19.5. The general principle of this rule 
    is that, because of their interior lines and generally lower level of activity. 
    Union regiments/brigades will be less apt to become fatigued than Confederate 
    ones. It also replaces bookkeeping with die-rolling towards the end of each 
    day.
 
  - [19.61] During the Initial Command Phase of a Game-Turn listed on the Fatigue 
    Table {19.66). a Player must roll two dice and consult the Fatigue Table for 
    each of his brigades on the map to see if any are fatigued. A dice-roll which 
    falls within the listed span causes all units within the brigade to be fatigued 
    (Execption: See Case 19.64).
 
  - [19.62] Units that are fatigued remain so until night. Starting with the 
    2000 Game-Turn, each Player may roll two dice to attempt to remove fatigue 
    from his brigades during the Initial Command Phase. If he rolls a 2 through 
    5 for a brigade, that brigade is no longer fatigued. However, if any unit 
    of a brigade moves, engages in combat or is bombarded by Union gunboats, that 
    brigade may not have fatigue removed. During rain Game-Turns, fatigue removal 
    may be attempted only for brigades that have at least 2/3 of their units encamped 
    {round up).
 
  - [19.63] If a brigade is still fatigued by the beginning of the second day. 
    the owning Player may remove fatigue with a roll of 2 through 7 during the 
    Initial Command Phase. Units that become fatigued during the second day may 
    not recover.
 
  - [19.64] Effects of fatigue are as described in Case 19.3. Fatigue never 
    affects artillery or cavalry units.
 
  - [19.65] Bue11's Army and Wallace's 3rd Division units (Union) are not checked 
    for fatigue until the second day, and when they are, the Union 1st day column 
    is used. That column is also used for any Confederate units arriving on the 
    second day.
 
  - [19.66] Fatigue Table
 
  -  
    
       
        | 1st Day Turn | 
        2nd Day Turn  | 
        USA 2nd Day and CSA | 
        USA 1st Day | 
      
       
        | 1540 | 
        1500 | 
         2 | 
        - | 
      
       
        | 1600 | 
         1520 | 
         2-3 | 
        - | 
      
       
        | 1620 | 
         1540 | 
         2-3  | 
        2 | 
      
       
        |  1640 | 
         1600 | 
         2-3  | 
        2-3 | 
      
       
        | 1700  | 
        1620 | 
         2-4  | 
        2-3 | 
      
       
        | 720 1 | 
        640  | 
        2-4  | 
        2-3 | 
      
       
        |  1740  | 
        1700  | 
        2-5 | 
         2-4  | 
      
       
        | 1800  | 
          | 
        2-6  | 
        2-4  | 
      
       
        | 1820+  | 
          | 
        2-7  | 
        2-5 | 
      
       
        A roll within the indicated 
            span causes fatigue in the affected brigade.  | 
      
    
   
  - [20.0] Designer's Note: Some Players - a healthy minority, shall we say 
    - have complained that the Confederate Army is unable to achieve the surprise 
    that it did historically, using the present Alert system. This is probably 
    because most players approach these games with a degree of hindsight unavailable 
    to the actual participants - especially as to the terrain. Therefore, I have 
    adjusted the Alert system to a certain degree, and this, together with some 
    tightening of and changes to the picket rules, as well as a less debilitating 
    movement/straggler dice-roll, should considerably aid the play balance of 
    the game. For those who want strict historicity, use the original rules; for 
    those who want a little flexibility and compensation for hindsight, use the 
    new rules.
 
  - [20.12] (clarification) The side of the counter that says "Picket', 
    is Line Formation; the other, Column. (addition) Pickets do not use ammunition.
 
  - [20.15] (clarification) This also pertains to pickets alerted by other pickets; 
    the second picket may now move normally. (This usually occurs when Peabody's 
    picket runs into Miller's picket on the opening Game- Turn.) (clarification) 
    If Peabody's picket is deployed in A1312 it has spotted the Confederates, 
    no matter what that Confederate unit does that turn. (clarification) In order 
    for one Friendly unit to alert another, both units (which may be of any type) 
    must cease movement while stacked together (this refers to all alert mechanisms). 
    They may move no further that Phase. Remember that, except for actual LOS 
    spotting of an Enemy unit, all alerting takes p1ace in the Alert Phase - not 
    in the Picket movement Phase {which follows). Thus, if Picket A is to alert 
    Picket B, the two must be stacked together during the Alert Phase. (change) 
    A picket may always stack with another picket (even if the two are in co1umn) 
    if one picket will alert the other during the following Alert Phase.
 
  - [20.22] (change) When rolling to alert a brigade officer per this Case, 
    the die-roll must be equal to or less than that officer' s Effectiveness Radius 
    (i.e. Command Radius). Thus, a die-roll of 1 through 4 will alert Peabody, 
    but only a 1 or a 2 will alert McDowell. [20.26] (correction) The third word 
    in the first line should be "unalerted".
 
  - [20.27] (correction) Picket units, regardless of state, may always alert 
    other picket units. (clarification) Combat units may be alerted by a picket 
    unit only if that picket unit is routed. Otherwise, pickets are only used 
    to alert "leaders". (This is to prevent pickets from playing a game 
    of tag. and it a1so reflects command doctrine vis a vis picket duties).
 
  - [20.3] {change) Unalerted infantry units are not in any formation; when 
    alerted and able to move, they must expend the necessary Movement Points to 
    enter one formation or the other. As unalerted infantry units have no formation, 
    any unit firing upon such a unit is firing through an enfilade hexside.
 
  - [20.4] (optional rule) DIVISION COMMANDER ALERT RATINGS 
    
      - This rule reflects the fact that certain Union divisional commanders 
        weren't paying much attention to what was going on, or refused to believe 
        what they did see. In essence, the rule changes the normal 1 through 4 
        die-roll for alert to an individual die-roll rating for each commander. 
        To alert a divisional commander, the owning Player must roll within the 
        listed span. Remember, after the second Turn, the alert is automatic, 
        as per Case 20.22.
 
    
   
  
     
      | Division | 
      Commander | 
      Die-roll to Alert | 
    
     
      | 1 | 
      McClernand | 
      1-3 | 
    
     
      | 2 | 
      Wm. Wallace | 
      1-5 | 
    
     
      | 4 | 
      Hurlbut | 
      1-4 | 
    
     
      | 5 | 
      Sherman | 
      1-2 | 
    
     
      | 6  | 
      Prentiss | 
      1 | 
    
  
  - [24.15] (correction) The legend in the diagram is wrong, and the distance 
    stated should be one hex.
 
  - [26.11] (correction) There is no Command Staff Sheet. The OB's 1ist all 
    necessary information for staff purposes.
 
  - [29.5] (change) No Union Fifth Division picket may be placed east of the 
    ravine running along the west side of Rhea Field, and no picket may be placed 
    in a clear or field terrain hex at the start of play. (A picket may be p1aced 
    in a woods road or trail hex.) A picket may either be in line or column formation; 
    the choice is the owning Player's.
 
  - [32.2] (correction) Recent research indicates that Byrne's Kentucky Battery 
    (Reserve Corps) did have five 6-pounder smoothbores, not four.
 
SEQUENCE OF PLAY CHECKLIST
  - ALERT (Union only) 
    
      - 1. Attempt to alert leaders 
 
    
   
  - PICKET AND PATROL (Union only) 
    
      - 1. Move pickets 
 
      - 2. Move aides
 
    
   
  - INITIAL COMMAND 
    
      - 1. Effectiveness Radius reduced to 3 hexes in woods 
 
      - 2. Fall prone (optional) 
 
      - 3. Fatigue/fatigue removal (optional)
 
    
   
  - MOVEMENT 
    
      - 1. Stacking Restrictions 
 
      - 2- Stragglers a. Looting 
 
      - 3. Wagon reaction 
 
      - 4. Mistaken Fire (optional) 
 
      - 5. Zones of Control a. Must stop if entering ZOC of mounted cavalry 
        b. Possible Withdrawal Fire if exiting Enemy ZOC
 
    
   
  - FIRE 
    
      - 1. Line of Sight 
 
      - 2. Stacking restrictions 
 
      - 3. Column modifiers a. Facing b. Formation c. Terrain d. Density e. 
        Co-ordination (optional) 
 
      - 4. Rapid Fire (optional) 
 
      - 5. Subtract ammunition from firing units 
 
      - 6. Exploding caissons (optional) 
 
      - 7. If unit routs a. May suffer Retreat Fire b. Must check for stragglers 
        upon conclusion 
 
      - 8. Forest fires (optional)
 
    
   
  - RETREAT BEFORE MELEE 
    
      - 1. Withdrawal Fire 
 
      - 2. Check for rout at end of retreat
 
    
   
  - MELEE 
    
      - 1. Stacking restrictions 
 
      - 2. Formation a. Routed 'units and infantry in column may not initiate 
        melee 
 
      - 3. Strength modifiers a. Rout status b. Leaders c. Morale d. Unalerted 
        status e. Terrain 
 
      - 4. Retreat a. May suffer Retreat Fire b. Check for rout upon conclusion
 
    
   
  - FINAL COMMAND
    
      - 1. Ammunition resupply 
 
      - 2. Rally a. Rally radius limited to 2 hexes in woods 
 
      - 3. Remove Pin markers 
 
      - 4. Recover stragglers 
 
      - 5. Weapons exchange (optional) 
 
      - 6. Fatigue accumulation or reduction 
 
      - 7. Promotions
 
    
   



      Please send comments and corrections via to Wargame 
      Academy 
    
  
  
    Go to the Wargame 
      Academy  main page
    
    