THE CIVIL WAR ERRATA
Civil War Errata November 1983
The following corrections and clarifications address the
questions that have arisen since the publication of The Civil
War. If the date on the bottom righthand corner of page 56 in
your rules booklet reads "2/83," these errata are applicable to
your copy of the game. In subsequent printings, these corrections
have already been made in the rules booklet. Errata are
designated on this sheet by section and page number and right (R)
or left (L) column.
1.1 Resource Allocation
- 8R: Confederate Control of Washington. (Clarification) If the
Confederates take Washington, the Union Blockade and Sea Lift are
permanently reduced to zero. Furthermore, the East must be the
Union primary theater starting with the first Resource Allocation
following the fall of Washington.
1.2 The Action Phase
- 9L: Definition. (Clarification) Each Command Point spent always
uses up one point of the Initiative Dice Difference.
- 10R: Mandatory expenditure. (Correction) The example should read,
"In other words, there is no passing in the game--if you have any
Commands and/or Reinforcements, then the initiative Dice
Difference must be spent on them."
- 10R: Command Point Types. (Clarification) Naval Commands can be
spent only to activate naval leaders, naval forces, and ground
leaders using sea movement, amphibious movement, or river
2.1 Leader Rank
- 10R. (Clarification) Naval leaders may never command SP's for
ground movement or for ground combat. They may command them for
2.2 Leader Promotions
- 11L: Promotion Procedure. (Clarification) When a leader
reinforcement is picked and it turns out to be a promotion
counter for a leader already on the map, the promotion
immediately replaces the lower ranked counter in the hex occupied
by the lower ranked counter.
- (Clarification) A promotable leader becomes eligible for
promotion when he has been in combat and was not killed, wounded,
or placed in the leader pool. Overrun is not considered combat
for promotion purposes.
- 11R: Promotion Anomaly (Clarification) If a leader's promotion
counter is on the Turn Record Track and the lower ranked counter
becomes wounded, place the lower ranked counter with the higher
ranked one on the Turn Record Track. Both are then placed in the
Leader Pool on the following turn.
- If a promotion counter is in the Leader Pool and the lower ranked
counter is killed, discard the higher ranked counter when picked
and pick again. If the promotion is on the Turn Record Track when
the leader is killed, remove the promotion counter.
- If a promotion counter is in the Leader Pool and the lower ranked
counter is wounded, place both promotion and wounded counters on
the Turn Record Track for the next turn.
3.2 Leaders and Ground Movement
- 14L: Movement of Leaders Alone. (Addition) A leader moving by
himself may never enter a hex occupied by an enemy SP, depot,
fort/fortress, or Army Reaction Radius. He may enter an enemy
Army Reaction Radius if the hex entered contains a friendly SP.
- (Clarification) A leader moving by himself may combine different
types of movement during the same Pulse, without penalty.
3.3 Terrain Effects on Movement
- 15L. (Clarification) A force may never cross a navigable river
hexside and enter a hex occupied by an enemy fort or fortress
that is in supply or occupied by an SP. If the fort/fortress is
out of supply and unmanned, the hex may be entered. Fort Pickens
(2730) and Fort Pulaski (4425) are the only fortresses completely
separated from the mainland by navigable river hexsides.
3.5 Rail Movement
- 15R: Procedure. (Addition) An SP may move along friendly
controlled rail lines in enemy territory without aid of a leader.
Reinforcements may also be brought in by rail in enemy territory.
4.1 Combat Procedure
- 17L: 10. Army Combat. (Clarification) A leader in command of an
army, and whose Army Command Rating is tinted in the enemy's
favor, gives his re-rolls to his opponent. This is true whether
or not the enemy force is an army. Thus, if McClellan and the
Army of the Potomac attack a non-army Confederate force, the
Confederate player still receives McClellan's re-roll.
4.4 Leader Effects on Combat
- 18R: Leaders Without Armies. (Correction) The example beginning,
"The Union die roll was . . .," should read "The Union die
was a 3 modified to a 4, while the Confederate result was a 6
modified to an 8. Cross-referencing the Union result on the CRT
we find that the 4 roll yields a result of dl since we use the
result under the Def column and the medium size row (the Union
force is medium size). The Confederate roll is located under the
Att column and yields a result of d in the small force size l row
(the Confederate force is small) against the Union. Thus the
final result is that the Confederate loses an SP and is
Demoralized, while the Union is only Demoralized. Had Polk been
the Confederate leader instead of Jackson, his Tactical Combat
Rating would have been added to the Union result. Thus, the final
Union die would have been 5, the Confederate 6. Leader Loss
Checks are made for both leaders at the conclusion of the combat
5.3 Naval Movement
- 23R. (Clarification) The Union player can use both Discretionary
and Naval Commands to move NSP's, conduct sea movement,
amphibious movement and to move naval leaders.
5.6 Union Sea Lift Capacity
- 24R. (Clarification) Each SP moved by Sea Movement or Ocean
Transport uses one Sea Lift point.
5.8 Union Amphibious Movement
- 25R. Amphibious Movement Procedure. (Correction) Step 5 should
read, "If there is still a Confederate ironclad in the invasion
hex, then steps 3 and 4 are repeated.
- 26L. (Clarification) When an invasion hex contains Confederate
SP's, Confederate losses must be taken from the SP's, not from
the intrinsic hex strength.
5.9 Combined Land and Naval Combat Example
- 27R: (Correction) Starting with "The Combat is resolved using .
. .," should read, "The combat differential is +1, but there is
a column shift of 1 left because the Confederates occupy a fort.
The Union player rolls one die and adds the Tactical Combat
Ratings of Grant and Foote to the result. The modified result is
5, which is then located under the Def column beside the medium
size result to find the effect on the Confederate force. The
result is dl. The Confederate player rolls a 6, which when
cross-referenced under the Att column beside the small size
result yields a d result against the Union. Thus, the Union has
won the battle and the remaining 2 confederate SP's must retreat.
A force may not retreat across a navigable river hexside nor into
a hex adjacent to the attacker, thus the 2 SP's are also
eliminated. The Union SP's occupy the fort, destroying it, and
are demoralised. The naval force remains in its hex side and is
not demoralised. Leader Loss Checks are then made for Foote and
5.10 Naval Combat
- 28L: Naval Combat Results. (Addition) If a transport is damaged,
any SP it is carrying is returned to the starting hex. Do not
roll for additional losses or move the SP across the map, simply
place it on the starting hex. If there are more transports than
SP's, then no SP is moved back as long as there is at least 1
transport per SP.
5.11 CSA Commerce Raiders
- 28R. (Clarification) Union Naval Commands spent to affect the Confederate
roll, affect all the CSA raiders currently at sea. The Union player docs not
spend the Commands separately for each ship at sea.
6.2 Tracing a Supply Line
- 30L: Supply Depots. (Clarification) Supply depots may be built on a hex
which is out of supply. This represents "living off the land" and
is one of the primary tactics in the game.
6.3 Combination Supply Lines
- 30R: Union Supply by River. (Clarification) A supply line may not
be traced along a river into a river hexside controlled by an
enemy fort/fortress which is in supply or manned, or into a
hexside controlled by an enemy NSP.
- 31R: Supply Example. (Correction) the text of the example should
read, "The control markers indicate Union control of cities and
rail lines. The rail line from the 1 SP force to Pensacola and
Mobile is Union controlled. The 1 SP is in supply because it can
trace a supply line along the rail line to Pensacola, which is
a coastal hex. The supply line then goes from there to the north
and is a valid line. The 2 SP force is in supply because it
occupies a hex adjacent to a navigable river hex side and that
river leads out to sea. The supply line is valid because
Confederate Fort Morgan is out of supply and thus has no effect
on the game. However, if Fort Morgan were occupied by a
Confederate SP, then the supply line would be traced by river to
Mobile, then by rail to Pensacola, and from there over the sea
to the North. If the Confederate player controlled any of the
river hexsides between the force and Mobile (for example, a CSA
ironclad in hexside 2426/2527 or a fort in 2427), the force would
be out of supply. The 3 SP force is in supply because it occupies
a coastal hex."
- 32R: When Reinforcements Enter the Game. (Clarification) Reinforcement
is not movement; thus, a reinforcement (of any type) may be moved in the
same Pulse it is placed.
- 33L.: Strength Points, 2, Army Placement. (Clarification) Reinforcements
may not be taken into an army which is already at its maximum strength.
They may be taken into the hex if it contains an eligible VP city, as in
VP City Placement.
- 33R: Leaders. (Correction) A leader may enter the game as a result of
winning an Initiative roll or being entered in the Pulse. Entering a
leader for winning the initiative is free, while entering in a Pulse
costs the player one point of Initiative Dice Difference (but no
8.2 Rail Conversion.
- 34R: Conversion by State Control. (Addition) When a player converts a
neutral state by occupying all its VP cities at the end of a turn, he
also gains control of the rail line in the state. When an enemy state is
converted to neutrality the rail lines remain in enemy control until
converted by cavalry or infantry.
9.2, Army Movement and Stacking.
- 35R. (Clarification) A Union army may move by Sea Lift, but not by Ocean
or River transport.
10.2 Cavalry Control of Hexes.
- 40R. (Clarification) A cavalry force becomes an infantry force if its
leader is killed or wounded, or if it is dropped off in a hex during
movement. Since there are no separate counters for cavalry, this anomaly
could not be avoided without excessive rules complexity. You should
avoid intentionally using this tactic and house rules are encouraged to
- 42R. (Clarification) If Missouri joins the Confederacy, the Union loses
all subsequent Trans Mississippi reinforcements. If Missouri is retaken
by the Union, Trans-Mississippi reinforcements for turns following
reconversion are not lost.
13 State Militia Mobilization
- 42L. (Addition) Kentucky's state militia has already been mobilized at
the start of the game also (parts joined each side!).
- (Clarification) If a state has no VP city on the map, place its militia
on any hex in the state except the one entered by the enemy force which
- 47R: 1864 Confederate Set-Up. (Change) The force setting up in 3318
should set up in 3319 instead. In addition, the Confederate Army of
Mississippi is already eliminated (surrendered at Vicksburg).
- 48R: 1864 Union Naval Set-Up. (Correction) Delete the Indianolo, which
is shown setting up in 1426/1427. It is already eliminated.
15.7 Scenarios and Victory
- 51R. (Clarification) Victory Points are also awarded for the destruction
of enemy VP Cities by Indian Raid. This is in addition to being awarded
1 VP for every two cities/stockades eliminated.
- Terrain Effects Chart. (Correction) Rail lines have no effect on Amphibious
Defense Strength or CRT Column Shifts, delete the "1" in each of
- 26R: Amphibious Movement with Naval Leaders (Clarification) When there are
two or more Union naval leaders in the same force, only the Tactical Combat
Rating of the highest ranked is used to resolve combat.
- 26: Amphibious Combat Example. (Correction) The 2 transports should be ocean-going,
rather than river-going, and the example text should read, "Union force
B under Farragut has left Washington to make an amphibious landing against
Mobile. The force enters the river hexside 2429/2530 which is controlled by
Fort Morgan and occupied by the CS ironclad Tennessee. The first round of
naval combat is initiated; the Confederate player rolls on the I NSP column
while the Union rolls on the 5 + column (4 NSPs for his ironclads, plus I
NSP for the two transports). The Confederate player rolls a 4, no effect.
The Union rolls a 1, which is modified to a 3 for Farragut's Tactical Combat
Rating; no effect. Then the Confederate fortress attacks on the Unmanned Fortress
row; the roll is a 5, damaging one Union NSP. The Union player chooses an
ironclad rather than a transport to keep from losing an SP as well. He places
the Mahopac on the Game-Turn Record Track for the next turn. In the second
round of combat, the Confederate rolls a 5 for no effect; the Union uses the
3-4 column because his ironclad loss reduces his strength to 4 NSP s. He rolls
a 3, which is modified to 5 for Farragut and the Tenessee is damaged; since
it is Confederate, it is eliminated. The fortress gets one more shot and a
4 is rolled for no effect. The Union force moves into hexside 2429/2529 and
the Confederate fortress gets to attack again since the Union force is running
the fortress. A 1 is rolled for no effect. The Union force enters hex 2428
to launch the invasion against Mobile. First, the manned fort in the hex gets
to attack the Union force; the result is no effect. Then the invasion is resolved.
The Confederate strength is 4 (1 point each for the hex, the fort, the SP
and the city); the Union strength is 6 (3 for the ironclads I for the 2 transports,
and 2 for the SP s). Using the Combat Ratio/Differential Determination Chart
we find this is a +1, +2 combat (column F). The Union player rolls one die
and adds the Tactical Combat Ratings of Farragut and Schofield to the result,
the modified result is 7, which is located under the Def column beside the
j Medium size result (because the Union force is medium size, 4-9 SP equivalents).
The result against the Confederate is d2. The Confederate rolls a 4, which
is located under the Att column beside the Medium size result (since the Confederate
force is also medium), the result is dl against the Union. Thus, the Confederate
force, including the fort, is eliminated, the Union force loses I SP and is
demoralized, but successfully occupies Mobile. Leader loss checks are now
made for Farragut and Schofield. A second effect of the invasion is that Confederate
Fort Morgan is now out of supply and has no effect on the game. Had the Union
lost more NSPs to the Tennessee or the fortress, the invasion might have failed.
If it failed, the Union would have had to retreat back to Washington by passing
Fort Morgan a second time, being attacked as it passed.
- Corrected Naval Results Table
Back to CVW page
Back to WGA page