
GETTYSBURG ‘88 RULES CLARIFICATIONS
Changes since the BPA PBEM Championship II are in italics.

Movement

1. Road movement may not be used to enter enemy zones of control 
(ZOC).  Units may use road movement when leaving enemy zones of 
control.  Enemy ZOC also negate bridges at streams.

2. It costs one extra movement point to enter a rough hill hex (E6, F5, and 
F6).

3. Units are not required to stop upon entering enemy zones of control.  
(“ZOC don’t lock.”)  They may not, however, move directly from one enemy 
ZOC to another.

4. If a general unit is on an entry hex when a unit or units under his 
command appear, the general unit may add one extra movement factor to 
those units if it follows them to the end of their movement.

5. When an entering unit’s entry hex is blocked by enemy units or enemy 
ZOC, the entering unit comes on board at the nearest board edge hex not 
occupied by enemy units or in enemy ZOC.  If 2 such hexes are equally 
near, the entering unit may choose either.

6. When an entering unit’s entry hex is blocked by friendly units which are 
unable to move, the entering unit comes on board at the nearest board 
edge hex not occupied by enemy units or in enemy ZOC.  If the entering 
unit is blocked by friendly units which are able to move, the friendly units 
can move to allow the entering units on board, or the entering unit can 
cross over the friendly units.

7. Road movement can be maintained if non-road movement is involved 
inside a hex.  For example, movement from I5 to H5 to G6 receives the 
road bonus for each hex, because the non-road movement takes place 
completely inside hex H5.  Other examples are G8 to F7 to E7 and G10 to 
G9 to G8.

8. A general may not “commit suicide” by deliberately entering an 
opponent’s ZOC.

9. The Battle Manual, page 20, Rule 8b2, COMBAT EXAMPLE 2, 
Movement, Paragraph 2 is incorrect.  Pegram’s movement costs it 3 1/2 
movement factors, not 4 1/2 as printed.
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Stacking

10. Two or more generals from the same side may occupy the same hex, 
whether or not combat units are present.

11. Hancock’s power to command any Union units on July 1 extends 
through Turn 8.

12. If Hancock ends the Union half of Turn 8 commanding units of different 
corps, he may remain in command of those units during the Confederate 
portion of Turn 9.  However, he must relinquish command at the beginning 
of Union Turn 9 unless he is unable to move.

13.  The two Cavalry Corps generals, Stuart and Pleasanton, can 
command any cavalry unit in their respective armies, including horse 
artillery units.

Regular Combat

14. No unit in combat may have its die roll modified by more than 10.

15. The retreat sequence is as follows.
a. If possible, retreat to an adjacent hex which is not in enemy ZOC 

and not occupied by friendly combat units.  The retreat is now complete.
b. If no such hex is available, retreat to an adjacent hex which is not 

in enemy ZOC but is occupied by friendly combat units.  From that hex, go 
back to step “a”.

c. If all retreat hexes are in enemy ZOC, if possible, retreat to one 
that does not contain any friendly combat units.  The retreat is now 
complete.

d. Retreat to a hex that is in enemy ZOC and contains friendly 
combat units.  From that hex, go back to step “a”.

A retreating unit cannot reenter any hex originally occupied by it or any 
other unit defending in the same battle.  If any step calls for that to happen, 
go to the next step.

If following this sequence results in an “endless loop,” go to the next step 
that would break the loop.

16. If a defeated unit’s only retreat would result in overstacking, it cannot 
retreat and must take an additional step loss.
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17. If a defeated artillery unit’s only retreat would be to a wooded rough 
hills hex (E6 or F5), it cannot retreat and must take an additional step loss.

18. Notwithstanding Rule 4a5, which states that “An individual combat can 
never consist of attacking units from 2 or more hexes against defending 
units in 2 or more hexes,” such an attack is possible if both attacking hexes 
are adjacent to both defending hexes.  For example, units in E8 and G8 
could attack units in F7 and F8 in one battle.

Double Range Artillery

19. A single attacking double range artillery unit may attack more than one 
enemy artillery unit as long as all defending units are within double range.

20. Artillery adjacent to and therefore engaged in regular combat with other 
units may not engage in double range artillery combat.

21. Artillery units gain terrain modifiers when attacked at double range by 
other artillery units, but not when attacking at double range or supporting 
other units attacked in regular combat.

22. A defending double range artillery unit on a hill does not gain the terrain 
modifier if attacked from the same hill (e.g., Cemetery Hill).

23 A defending double range artillery unit in woods does not gain the 
terrain modifier if attacked from a continuously connected woods hex (e.g., 
S4 and U5.

24. Double range artillery combat may not cause more than a one step 
loss, and there is no advance or retreat after combat.

25. If either the double range artillery unit or its target unit is on a hill hex, 
intervening terrain (including intervening hill hexes) does not block such 
combat.

26. Defending double range artillery may not add its combat factor to 
another defending double range artillery unit.  It may only add its combat 
factor to a unit defending in normal combat.

27. Two artillery units in the same hex cannot split their double range 
artillery combat into two battles.

28. Double range artillery combat is not allowed at night.
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Scoring

29. Units voluntarily moved off the board are considered eliminated, scoring 
the appropriate number of Victory Points for the opposing side.  Units 
retreated off the board, including retreats to avoid elimination or step 
losses, are not considered eliminated.  Such retreated units score no points 
for the opponent if undamaged and one point each for the opponent if 
flipped.  General units retreated off the board or voluntarily withdrawn may 
reenter the game during the next night turn per the rules as written; any 
other units retreated off the board or voluntarily withdrawn may not reenter 
the game.

30. Reinforcements never brought on board do not count as VPs for either 
side.

31. General units may be used to control victory point hexes.

Miscellaneous

32. The initiative marker may be used only once in each battle.


