TERRIBLE SWIFT SWORD SPI ERRATA
From Moves 29; TERRIBLE SWIFT SWORD ERRATA (as of 19
The information listed below is a result of letters and comments
from the players of TSS. It consists of a number of changes,
clarifications, additions, etc., to the rules of the game, some
corrections to the few typographical errors that appeared
pertaining to the Order of Battle, as well as two additional
suggested, but optional, rules that will increase historical
enjoyment of the game at some cost to playability. The designer
is grateful to the number of people who have responded with their
insights and comments, and he certainly welcomes further such
- [5.29] (ADDITION) During a friendly melee phase, one infantry
unit may melee across the Marsh Creek Bridge (A4629/30). This
rule is an exception to 5.27.
- [8.7] (CLARIFICATION) Units in Reserve Status may not fire,
either offensively or defensively.
- [9.0] (CLARIFICATION) Ridges and Crests are separate entities for
all purposes, especially movement. Do not confuse the two. (See
the Terrain Examples on the Map). The Terrain Effects on Movement
Table has specific columns for a) crossing a ridge hexside; b)
crossing a crest hexside by moving up the crest; and c) crossing
the crest hexside by moving down the crest. Remember, Ridge
hexsides have splash contours on both sides of the hexside, while
a Crest has splash marks on one side only (the downhill side). A
unit sitting in a hex that is adjacent to a downhill Crest
Hexside (i.e., "beneath" the crest) is considered to be on ground
level for LOS purposes, not Ridge Level!
- [10.22] (ADDITION) M = Smoothbore Muskets (Austrian, etc.)
- [10.23] (ADDITION) Units gaining a weapon-defense benefit (C, S,
B and P combat units) do not gain this benefit when undergoing
Retreat Fire or Withdrawal Fire (except when "covering" for
Withdrawal Fire as per 11.14).
- [10.84] (CLARIFICATION) Pinned units may not fire Withdrawal or
Retreat Fire. Pinned units have no Zones of Control. Pinned
Artillery units may not use Counter-Battery Fire; they may fire
only in a Defensive Fire Phase.
- [12.0] (CLARIFICATION) Units that are out of ammunition (Ammo
Depleted) do have Zones of Control for the purposes of negating
supply and leader effectiveness lines.
- [13.81] (CLARIFICATION) A "K" result has no effect on Artillery
units in any way.
- [13.83](CLARIFICATION) Artillery units, once captured may not be
- [13.84] (CLARIFICATION) Engaged units have no Zones of Control.
Leaders that are "Engaged" (in a Melee) may not Rally other
units; their Effectiveness Radius, however, remains unhampered.
- [13.87](ADDITION) If, in a Melee Combat, the result is such that
both sides are totally eliminated (either through a K or C, etc.)
ignore that result and consider it to be an Engaged.
- [14.3] (CLARIFICATION) Routed units may not Retreat Before Melee
(13.7); they have no Zone of Control and may not engage in
Withdrawal or Retreat Fire. Although Routed units may move one
hex per turn, they still need to be within the radius of a
Leader, etc., in order to move, as per 17.13.
- [14.5] (CLARIFICATION) If the top unit in a stack is eliminated
by fire, the bottom unit does not have to check for rout.
- [17.13] (CLARIFICATION) Units outside a Leader's Effectiveness
Radius may still fire Withdrawal and/or Retreat Fire; these units
do have Zones of Control.
- [17.4] (ADDITION) If, as a result of fire or Melee casualties, a
Leader is alone in a hex that is surrounded by enemy units or
enemy Zones of Control, and all these enemy units and ZOC's are
within five hexes of the Leader, that Leader is considered
- [17.57] (ADDITION) New Leaders (i.e., leaders re placing leaders
that have taken casualties, etc.) are placed on the game-map in
the Final Command Phase of the turn the original leader left the
- [21.56] (ADDITION) If the Confederates exit combat units
amounting to at least 500 men (5 SP's) through Staging Area #6
the Union Player may not use that SA to bring in any more
reinforcements (21.53). This pertains only to Area #6.
- [28.22](CORRECTION) In Line 8, Confederate Deployment, remove the
phrase "excluding Gordon's Brigade" and place it in line 3 after
Early's Division (11). Gordon's Brigade is in Early's Division,
but it's correct deployment is given in Line 12, as written.
- [28.22] (CLARIFICATION) The CSA Player should note that the 11th
Miss (4/Heth/III) and the batteries of Alexander's, Eshleman's
and Poague's Artillery Battalions have not yet arrived and should
not be deployed.
- [28.25] (CORRECTION) Column 3, line 4--"2/1/1" should read
- [28.32] (CORRECTION) The following changes should be made to the
initial Union deployment:
- 1. G, lNY and 6F, MeLt batteries should be in 0122, not 0124.
- 2. Switch the 63 Penn Reg. with the 57 Penn Reg.
- 3. Switch the 141 Penn Reg. with the 114 Penn Reg.
- [28.37] (ADDITION) The Union units that are initially deployed in
Reserve Status may stack over and above the normal Reserve
Stacking restrictions until released by (2) above.
- [28.42] (ADDITION) In the Initial Confederate Deployment, Hood's
Division sets up with McLaw's Division, but slightly to the south
of it. (No unit should be south of the 2000 hexrow).
- [29.2](DELETE) From the Union July 1, 1940 Hours Reinforcements,
"... remainder of the III Corps Artillery."
- [30.1] (ADDITION) At the end of Cavalry:
- Imbodon's Independent Command
62d Va. Mounted Infantry; Virginia Partisan
Rangers; 18th Va.; McClanahan's Horse Artillery
- [30.1] (CORRECTIONS)
- 1. The 5th Ala. Sharpshooters are part of the 5th Ala. Regiment
listed under O'Neill/Rodes/II.
- 2. In WHF Lee's Cavalry Brigade, the 9th NC regiment should read
- [30.2] (CORRECTIONS)
- 1. The 1st and 3rd Penn. Regiments (Cavalry) should be listed
under the First Brigade of the Second Division, Union Cavalry.
- 2. Under 2/3/1, the 140th Pa. should read the 149th Pa.
- 3. Under 2/1/V, the 4th Ma should read the 4th Mich.
- 4. Under 2/2/XI, the 3d Ma should read the 33d Ma.
- 5. Under 2/3/XI, the 76th Wisc should read the 26th Wisc.
- 6. Under Fitzhugh's 4th Vol. Reserve Artillery, the NY Lt, 1st
Battery should read the NJ Lt. 1st Battery.
Counter Sheet (CORRECTIONS)
- There is an extra Confederate Unit in the counter-mix: the
35th Va. Battalion Cavalry. It is not used in the game.
- The Union 9th Mass Infantry Regiment should read, for its
parent organization, 2/1/V.
- The Union 108th NY Regiment should read 2/3/11, not 1/3/11. It
is listed correctly in the OB.
Brigade Combat Effectiveness Sheet. (CORRECTIONS)
There are several minor errors in the total strengths (not the
BCE level) of a few of the units listed on the sheet. The true
strengths of the units are listed below, with the mistaken
strengths listed in parentheses:
- Wofford's Brigade (McLaws/I): 23 (24)
- Daniel's Brigade (Rodes/II): 21 (18)
- Hampton's Brigade (Stuart/Cav): 22 (23)
SUGGESTED OPTIONAL RULES
These rules stated below may be used at the option of the players
for added realism.
- (18.5) HORSE HOLDERS: Whenever Cavalry units dismount someone
has to hold the horses! Therefore, when computing the fire strengths of dismounted
cavalry units, for every unit that has a present strength of '3' or more deduct
one strength point from its fire strength (not melee) before computing any
other changes. This deduction pertains only to firepower and not to anything
else (e.g., casualties, Rout check, etc.). Players should note that this rule
will have its greatest effect on the opening hours of play and can be used
to offset a particularly able Union commander, if that effect is so desired.
- (20.6) STRAGGLERS: A small percentage of casualties taken
are considered Missing In Action: these MIA's often simply wandered off during
the battle and were rounded up later to reform units, etc. Therefore, in the
full 3-day Battle game, in the 0300 Game Turn, each Player may round up the
stragglers. For every 2000 men lost (rounded down) in the previous day's fighting
the player may return one strength point to active duty. The SP must be an
R-weapon point. He may use these SP's to either build existing units up to
strength or to resurrect departed units. No more than one strength point may
be applied to any given unit. Resurrected units are placed with their parent
command in the Initial Command Phase.
Please send comments and corrections via to Wargame
Go to the Wargame
Academy main page