WAR IN EUROPE ERRATA1
27 November 1996
LA Group WiE errata, Q&A, Addenda (part 1)
War in Europe Errata, Q&A, Addenda version 1.2 [draft 3, xx November 96]
This includes the published 20 April 76 errata (indicated by an *), questions
officially answered in writing and clarifications obtained by
telephone from SPI between 1976 and 1980. Portions of this were published in
the March 1981 issue of the Journal of WWII Wargaming as "Cleaning Up the
Act," based on our Los Angeles group's letters and materials.
Note that while this does NOT take into account the parallel efforts by the
Kansas City group which we were unaware of at the time (resulting in the SPI-sponsored
1981 draft errata version 1.3 - a significant reworking and rationalization
of the existing rules), it IS legitimately official on its own (although arguably
not comprehensive nor even reasonable in some cases). It is consistent with
the original rules and design, resolves a number of issues and disputes, and
fills some holes (but not much else). If this is all you have, it makes the
game more playable.
A note on my categorization of version numbering. Version 1.1 is
anything published prior to the collapse of SPI and extensive and/or
comprehensive errata becoming widely available. Version 1.2 is the LA
Group's compiled errata as published in the Journal of WW2 Wargaming
(and subsequently revised and expanded) which represents a stable
partial revision. Version 1.3 is anything published after 1980 that was
not comprehensive in nature. Version 1.4 is the Kansas City Group's
full-scale, SPI-sponsored compreh ensive errata and revision published
in 1982 and revised in 1984. Version 1.5 will be anything published in
the 1990s subsequent to the establishment of the War in Europe mailing
list and wide distribution of the previous versions of the
errata/addenda. Version 1.6 will be the next full-scale, comprehensive
errata and revision of the game. This numbering system is tentative
only, and open to suggestion, revision or a better format. Version 2.0
will be the next commercial re publishing of the game.
If anyone has any other errata directly and/or officially answered by
SPI from New York (not Kansas City) between 1976 and 1981 that is not
included below, please let me know at <firstname.lastname@example.org>. This is part
an ongoing effort to complete the final version 1.6 of War in Europe
*TERRAIN NOTE [3.1] and [5.8]:
The coastlines shown on the map were designed resemble as closely as
possible the actual coastlines of Europe. They have not been
rationalized to conform to the hexgrid. For this reason a number of
hexes and hexsides contain very insignificant portions of land, In part,
we have attempted to clarify the situation through use of the Blocked
hexsides. However, some ambiguous hexes still remain. Players are
advised to use their own judgment to come to some common agreement
concerning problems of terrain interpr etation.
*MAP CORRECTIONS [3.1]:
- 1) The Western Mediterranean/Central Mediterranean Sea Area border joins
along hexsides C1833/C1733 and D1701/C1833.
- 2) Hexsides D2522/2621 and D2522/2622 are Blocked hexsides.
- 3) The Blocked hexside F2807/2908 should be deleted. Normal movement and
combat is possible between those two hexes.
- 4) Syracuse, hex D2323, is a MAJOR Port hex.
- 5) Hex D5111 is a Woods hex.
- 6) Hexes F5433, F5633, and F5833 are Swamp hexes.
- 7) Hexes F1233 and G1101 are Clear hexes.
- 8) The city and Minor Port in hex D1805 is the port of Terranova.
- 9) Sevastapol, hex H2021, is a PERSONNEL CENTER (applicable to War in the
East/War in Europe).
- [3.2] (Clarification/Correctin) German fortifications are NOT markers and
ARE subject to the counter mix limitations.
- [6.61/2] Friendly repair units on the "unsupplied" side of a neutralized
rail hex may move up to the cut hex by rail movement and repair it.
- [6.65] Repair units may repair rail hexes occupied by a partisan unit.
- *[7.16] (Clarification) The movement around Africa described in this Case
is called "Rounding the Cape."
- [7.31] Units conducting an an amphibious assault which suffer a "Br"
result would take an "Ex" in lieu of retreat. If units conduct an
amphibious assault and force the defending unit to retreat into a hex which
holds attacking airborne units, the retreating units must attack the airborne
- [7.35] Amphibious Assault points serving as an Amphibious Supplyhead may
not be captured; they are destroyed instead.
- [8.31] Airborne units in a particular front's Available Airborne Units Box
may be transferred between fronts via ATP.
- [9.13] Armored and mech ZOCs DO extend out of rough/woods/swamp hexes into
surrounding clear terrain.
- *[12.1] (Omission) When units of nationalities using different Combat Results
Tables combine in an attack, the attack is resolved on the Combat Results
Table most favorable to the attacker.
- [13.35] After an Air-Sea Interdiction attack (with what ever results), the
Air Points are not returned back to the Available Air Point Box.
- [14.11] If a mech unit begins the initial movement phase in supply and moves
out of supply during that phase, it is out of supply for movement purposes
during the mechanized movement phase.
- *[14.42] (Addition) No more than one Mobile Supply unit may be included
in a Line of Supply being traced in the Severe weather Area.
- [14.6] (Clarification) The Amphibious Assault Range is the 12 hex range
from a hex in major supply refered to in [37.1] errata.
- *[15.1] (Addition)
- MODERATE WEATHER AREA - Snow Game-Turn: The cost to repair same-gauge
Rail hexes is increased to five Movement Points per hex. Repair (conversion)
of different-gauge Rail hexes is prohibited.
- SEVERE WEATHER AREA - Snow Game-Turn: The cost to repair same-gauge
Rail hexes is increased to five Movement Points. Repair (conversion) of
different-gauge Rail hexes is prohibited. Mobile Supply units have their
Movement Allowance reduced to ZERO. They may not move at all during Snow
Game-Turns in a Severe Weather Area.
- [15.1] (Clarification) Finnish and Soviet units have certain movement and
combat advantages in certain weather areas. Sweden never enjoys these advantages,
whether neutral or at war. Note in seasonal effects on Air Allocation by Air
Front that the effects apply to both Arid and Moderate weather areas.
- *[15.2] (Omission) INTER-AREA RESTRICTIONS: Units moving from one Weather
Area to another have their Movement Allowance and Supply Range determined
according to the hex in which they BEGAN the movement Phase. A unit's supply
state and Combat Strength (due to weather effects) are determined at the moment
of combat. A unit attacking across a Weatherline has its supply state and
Attack Strength determined according to the hex which the attacking unit occupies
- [17.11] Only one replacement point is needed to rebuild a unit; you do not
need six replacement points before you may use one.
- *[18.0] (Clarification) GENERAL RULE: The Cycle Date given (1/8/40) applies
only to an historical game beginning 3/5/40. In other Scenarios, French units
may fortify beginning TEN Game-Turns after an Axis unit has entered any hex
of Belgium or France, or has attacked a Belgian or French unit.
- [18.0] Air-Sea Interdiction against a Belgian or French unit does NOT trigger
the ability to fortify after 10 turns referred to in the *[18.0] errata.
- *[18.26] (Omission) Infantry units may not fortify in hexes containing non-destroyed
- *[22.13] (Clarification) Only the ARRIVAL of reinforcements is affected
by the U-Boat War. The required withdrawal of units is not affected. Withdrawals
always take place on their historical date.
- [23.0] Reinforcements may move in the same turn that they are placed on
- [24.31] A rail line suffering a "T" hit may not be used for supply
or rail movement during the following four Game-Turns. However a Mobile Supply
Unit next to the cut creates a supply link through the cut railhex, even though
it may not be used for rail movement.
- [24.81] Interceptor vs. escorts is resolved identical to Tactical Air Combat
[13.21]. That is, results are taken at the end of the combat, and "eliminated"
interceptor points may counterattack escorts. However, when interceptor attack
bombers, losses to interceptors are taken immediately, i.e., before the interceptors
attack the bombers.
- *[28.0] (Clarification) CHARTS AND TABLES: The large separate sheet containing
the German Production Spiral, Cost Chart, etc. is the Production Schedule.
- [29.2] If an Allied or Soviet unit enters Poland prior to the 13/42 cycle
and is expelled, the German may continue to loot until 13/42.
- [29.6] Italy may only be looted after its surrender to the Allies, i.e.,
it may not be looted beginning 10/39.
- [30.51] Axis 7-5 Airborne Divisions employed as ground formations are considered
infantry units which can be tripled while in fortifications.
- [30.53] Even though the rule says "normal production procedure is ignored,"
the production point costs for fortifications markers must still be paid.
- [31.11] Partisans (cadre or unit) have no effect on the Wehrkreis in Poland.
- [31.31] If the Allies invade one of the neutral countries listed in this
rule, and the Axis subsequently recapture the country, there is no minimum
- [31.52] If Germany attacks Yugoslavia in 1939 or 1940, the partisan cadre
conversion rate is the same as 1941. Eliminated Yugoslavian partisan cadres
may never come back into play.
- [31.53] Despite the phrase that a partisan unit "is a Ground Combat
unit for all game purposes," Yugoslavian partisan divisions may never
- [32.0] The German player may not transit through Hungary, Bulgaria, or Rumania
without violating their neutrality, i.e., transit constitutes an invasion
of a "still neutral Pro-Axis nation with active Axis forces" under
- [32.23] Italian IR/MR may not be produced on the German production spiral.
None of the Italian 1-4 units on the Turn/Cycle Record Track are airborne.
- [32.24] No major supply may be traced from Tobruk until Alexandria is captured
(n.b. three different questions addressed this issue from different angles
and the answer was always the same - live with it).
- [32.27] German units may not transit into or through Italy prior to its
activation; German units may not transit to Libya prior to Italy's activation.
- [33.14] This applies only to War in the West and not to the War in Europe
- [33.36] French units may not fortify as per the [18.0] errata if the Axis
player attacks Holland or Luxembourg but does not attack France or Belgium.
- [33.66] French IR/MR points in the West Front/Theater are destroyed when
- [33.74] If the Allies attack Vichy, The Axis player inherits the naval transport
capability in [33.65].
- [33.86] The Allied player is not required to state how his naval transport
point are being allocated between the different areas.
- [34.0] Forces deployed by armed neutrals at the beginning of the game may
not be moved prior to the violation of their neutrality.
- *[34.22] (Clarification) WAR DEPLOYMENT: Greece also goes on war deployment
when its neutrality is violated by any player.
- [34.6] The German player may not trace air support/interdiction missions
from the Swedish rail hexes leading to Narvik as long as Sweden is neutral.
- [35.3] If the Allies violate Danish neutrality, the Germans may still use
the provisions of [73.4].
- *[36.0] (Correction) POLITICAL POINT RECORD: The first event listed on the
Political Point Record is in error. Germany does NOT surrender when the Political
Point Level reaches "0." Rather, Germany surrenders only when the
conditions outlined in Case 32.16 are met. Additionally, if Spain and/or Turkey
should join the Axis due to their Political Point Trigger, they surrender
when an Allied unit occupies their capital city and the Political Point Total
is "29" or less.
- [36.6] No Political Points are awarded or lost for any actions concerning:
Danzig, Iran, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, or Luxembourg. The Axis player neither gains
nor loses Political Points for occupying Vichy France. Denmark is considered
a "minor power." There is no effect on Political Points for declaring
"peace" in a three-player game. A Soviet attack on Germany results
in (plus) 5 Political Points. The Soviet is considered an "Allied Player"
for Political Point purposes. "Enter any German Manufacturing Center"
does NOT apply to Brussels and Lille.
- [37.27] Rail Repair units may debark in the turn that neutrality is being
- *[37.9] (Clarification) For purposes of judging the Air Range of Friendly
and Enemy Air Points for Extraordinary Air-Sea Interdiction, Air Ranges may
only be traced from a non-Mountainous terrain hex which is in MAJOR supply.
This 12 hex range from a hex in Major Supply is the Amphibious Assault range
referred to in [14.6].
- [37.9] Extraordinary Air-Sea Interdiction is a separate function from Axis
North Sea Interdiction [77.5]. Separate die rolls are required.
- *[38.25] (Addition) All Campaign Scenarios except Poland [39.5] begin with
the reinforcements for that Cycle already arrived (and included in the unit
deployments). The Allied reinforcements for the 9/39 Cycle are placed during
the Reinforcement Phase of the First Game-Turn of the 1939 Campaign Scenario.
- *[38.4] (Omission) FREE DEPLOYMENT (OPTIONAL): The historical deployment
of units is given for all Scenarios. If desired, the Players may experiment
with free deployment. When using free deployment, units may be placed in ANY
hex of the country or territory in which they were deployed historically,
with the following exceptions: (1) Units must be placed on the "correct
side" of any applicable Scenario Start Line; (2) All international borders
covered by Friendly units or Zones of Control in the historical s et-up must
also be covered by Friendly units or Zones of Control in the free deployment.
In all Scenarios, the Second Player deploys all his units first.
- [39.6] Even though the Germans have a production pool of 90 points at the
beginning of the game, they may not begin production until the 10/39 Cycle.
- [40.46] This restriction also applies during the War in Europe campaign
- [46.1] The Soviet Player may not move Arms or Training Centers to the east
while at peace. He may move one per Cycle while at Limited War. See also [74.3].
- [46.51] Mandatory air point production only applies to Total War.
- [46.7] Arms Center disruption only applies to Total War.
- [48.26] "Off board" units may not attack Axis units on the hexrow
at the eastern mapedge.
- [51.0] Rebuilding intact Kampfgruppe only applies to War in the East.
- [52.14] (Clarification) Astrakahn has no effect has no effect on the supply
status of Sevastapol. The holding or loss of all the other Black Sea ports
has no effect on the supply status of Sevastapol. See [61.4].
- [52.14] (Addition) The Soviets also have one point of Naval Transport in
the White Sea (i.e. between Murmansk and Archangel).
- [53.44] This rule applies to the entire War in Europe map for all purposes.
That is, the Italians may not move north of 0030 anywhere for any reason.
- [53.5] This rule also applies to Rumanian units in War in Europe.
- [54.11] While neutral, Finnish units do not exert a ZOC into adjacent Soviet
rail hexes. When at war, they do.
- [54.14] Use this rule to determine Finnish supply, as opposed to [72.44]
- [54.21] A Finnish unit ten hexes from the Finnish border may attack a Soviet
unit eleven hexes from the Finnish border.
- [56.3] The Axis may not attempt to occupy these states prior to 1/11/39.
- [60.43] An Axis unit sitting on top of a partisan unit immobilizes it, since
the partisan could only move by entering into an enemy ZOC.
- [60.46] Eliminated partisan units may reduce to partisan cadre.
- [61.83] This rule applies only to "First Winter Effects."
- [71.11] Note that "First Winter Effects" [61.82/83] apply to the
"first winter" regardless whether the condition is limited or total
- [72.0] A post-Winter War attack by the USSR against Finland has no effect
on Swedish neutrality nor does it affect political point totals.
- [74.22] (Omission) Add "Poland north of the annexation line: 19x(1-4),
3x(1-3), 13x(2-5), 5x(3-5)." This was a misprint in the original rules.
- [74.51] Soviet Units may attack Polish units without entering limited war
- [77.5] This rule does apply to Allied units using naval transport trying
to seize Denmark using [37.27] or Allied attempts to move units by naval transport
to Stavanger or Bergen while the Germans hold Denmark. This rule also applies
to units trying to withdraw from North Sea hexes by amphibious transport.
The Following are Corrections in the Scenario Initial Deployments:
- *[39.21] GERMAN - MAP SECTION C: An additional 6-5 should be deployed in
- *[39.22] POLISH - MAP SECTION C: A 4-4 should be deployed in hex 5816 (NOT
- *[39.22] POLISH - MAP SECTION G: An additional 2-4 should be deployed in
- *[39.51] GERMAN - MAP SECTION C: An additional 1-5 KG should be deployed
in hex 3315. *[40.21] GERMAN - MAP SECTION C: An additional 6-5 should be
deployed in hexes 3815 and 3907.
- *[40.22] FRENCH - MAP SECTION C: One 3-10 (NOT TWO) each should be deployed
in hexes 2507, 2706 and 2714.
- *[40.22] FRENCH - MAP SECTION C: Two 3-10's each should be deployed in hexes
2603 and 2707.
- *[40.22] FRENCH - MAP SECTION C: Two 3-4's (NOT THREE) each should be deployed
in hexes 2806, 2808, 2809, 2810, 2818, 2918, 3016, 3017, 3116, 3117 and 3216.
- *[40.22] FRENCH - MAP SECTION C: Three 3-4's each should be deployed in
hexes 2610, 2715, 2807, 2912, 3013, 3014 and 3015.
- *[40.52] NORWEGIAN - MAP SECTION F: One 3-4 should be deployed in hex 3207.
- *[41.21] ITALIAN - MAP SECTION E: One 4-6 should be deployed in hex 3414
- *[42.21] GERMAN - MAP SECTION D: One 13-8 should be deployed in hex 2620
- *[43.21] GERMAN - MAP SECTION C: One 13-8 each should be deployed in hexes
0720, 2009 and 3206.
- *[43.21] GERMAN - MAP SECTION C: One 10-8 should be deployed in hex 2006
- *[43.21] GERMAN - MAP SECTION C: An additional 6-5 should be deployed in
hex 1005. One 7-5 should be deployed in hex 1203 (NOT 1005).
- *[43.22] COMMONWEALTH: Ten (NOT SEVEN) 3-8's should be deployed in Great
- [64.22] SOVIET INITIAL DEPLOYMENT: The last Soviet unit listed should be
- [75.34] ADDITIONAL AXIS DEPLOYMENT: Germany has no IR/MR points on the West
- [76.21] AXIS INITIAL DEPLOYMENT: The INDEPENDENT unit should be deployed
at hex G1012. See [76.3].
Please send comments and corrections via to Wargame
Go to the Wargame
Academy main page