WAR IN EUROPE ERRATA KC Standard Rule Booklet
Paul Smith <firstname.lastname@example.org>
Hank Meyer <email@example.com>
29 November 1996
KANSAS CITY GROUP REVISED ERRATA FOR SPI'S WAR IN EUROPE
Revision 2, June 1984
This is a comprehensive, stand-alone errata. It incorporates and
completely replaces the SPI April 1976 errata, the KC August 1981 Draft
Revised Errata for SPI's WAR IN EUROPE, and the KC July 1982 Revised
Errata for SPI's WAR IN EUROPE Revision 1. This was an officially
sponsored project compiled by Neil K. Hall, Joe Drummond, and George
Owens in their capacity as SPI's War in Europe Answermen. It was revised
and fine-tuned over a number of years, even after the demise of SPI. It
has been digitally transcribed by Paul Smith and Hank Meyer and made
available to Web Grognards verbatim without any changes or comments.
It is designated as War in Europe errata version 1.4. The Los Angeles
Group's comprehensive errata which preceeded it in 1981 is considered
War in Europe errata version 1.2. These two errata versions were
compiled independently of each other (although the KC Group had access
to much of the LA Group's materials) and differ in a number of
STANDARD RULES BOOKLET
- [3.26] (Clarification) A hex is considered "Friendly" if a Friendly
unit was the last to occupy or move through that hex. A hex is Neutral if
it is in a Neutral country. Any hex that is not Friendly or Neutral is an
"Enemy" hex. In the following cases the word Control means Friendly
and not Zone of Control: 6.62, 7.73, 8.26, 20.71, 31.0, 61.74, and 61.9.
- [3.4] (Clarification) The Soviets have a total of three (3) counter
sheets in both WAR IN THE EAST, 2nd Edition, and WAR IN EUROPE.
- [4.1] (Correction to second sentence) ...occurs at the beginning of the
cycle after every fourth game turn.
- [5.28] (Clarification) Movement through blocked hexsides crossed by Rail
Lines is by Rail Movement or Repair units only, regardless of weather (Exception:
15.1 and 77.2).
- [5.5] (Addition) Cavalry units pay infantry unit Movement Point costs.
- [5.75] (Correction) Case 12.7 should be case 12.43.
- [5.8] (Clarification) A mechanized unit moving across a river hexside in
the Initial or Mechanized Movement Phase always must expend one additional
Movement Point in order to cross the hexside, even if that hexside also is
crossed by a Rail Line.
- [6.34] (Clarification) Add to the end of case "detrain and fight."
- [6.62] (Omission) Repair units (and all other units) on the "wrong"
side of a neutralized or cut Rail hex (the side not reconnecting to a Friendly
Supply Source - see Case 6.52) may not use Rail Movement; they may move normally
along the Rail Line to the cut in order to repair it.
- [6.64] (Clarification) Repair units moving by Rail Movement or Sea Movement
may not repair or convert Rail hexes during that turn.
- [6.65] (Omission) Repair units may repair or convert Rail hexes occupied
by a Partisan unit.
- [6.69] (Addition) The following table details the number of hexes a Repair
unit may repair or convert during the noted Weather Game Turns in the two
Weather Areas which affect the Repair units:
WEATHER DURING TURN
|Axis & Allied
- [6.8] (Addition) OFF-MAP RAIL MOVEMENT
- Case 57.1 applies for the eastern, western, and southern map-edge in WAR
IN EUROPA, WAR IN THE EAST, and WAR IN THE WEST.
- [7.0] (Correction) Delete the reference to Amphibious Assault Range as
- [7.16] (Clarification) Axis units also may "Round the Horn;" however,
they are subject to High Seas Intervention Attrition during all four
turns, and Air Sea Interdiction the first turn.
- [7.18] (Clarification) Cannot use Naval Transport to move a unit to an
Amphibious Point being used as a Minor Port (Case 7.35) on the same turn
of Amphibious Assault by the Amphibious Point.
- [7.23] (Correction) Delete the last half of the last sentence beginning
with the word "however". The Owning Player does not receive any
Replacement Points for using Emergency Transport.
- [7.331] (Addition) A unit being moved via Amphibious Assault Point may
move a maximum of 24 hexes from the port of embarkation to the hex of
debarkation over Water hexes. The debarkation hex must be within 12
hexes of a Friendly non-Mountainous hex in Major Supply (see Case 14.6).
Gibraltar is an exception to the non-Mountainous hex restriction; all
operations that can occur from Major Supply can embark from Gibraltar.
- [7.332] (Addition) An Amphibious Assault may take place only in a
non-Mountainous Beach hex. A Beach hex is defined as a hex that is
adjacent either to an all-Sea hex or a "portless" Island hex. A
portless Island hex is defined as a hex containing portions of, or all
of, an island that has no port. There is no requirement for an
Amphibious Assault to trace a path through the all-Sea hex which defines
the beach hex. The Amphibious Assault must only be able to trace normal
Sea passage to the hex being as saulted. NOTE: Genoa (C2428) cannot be invaded
via Amphibious Assault, while the
hex south of Bergen (B5518), hex B5519, is invadable either from B5418
or B5419. EDITORS' NOTE: Obviously, some coastlines like Norway will
lead to differences of opinion. A list of All-Sea hex clarification is
listed elsewhere. When in doubt, consider the terrain; if the hex can
be reached only via Amphibious Assault, then it is an Island hex. B5616
and B5617 appear to be Island hexes, but normal land movement rules
allow movement into these hexes. Therefore, they are not portless
- [7.35] (Clarification) An Amphibious Assault point on a Beach hex may
not be captured or destroyed. If the Beach hex is recaptured, the
Amphibious Assault Point is recycled.
- [7.35] (Addition) An Amphibious Assault Point being used as a Minor
Port may transfer only two units via Sea Movement (example: one unit
brought in and one kampfgruppe shipped out). Normal stacking rules
apply, and up to four Amphibious Points in addition to the normal units
may be in one hex.
- [7.36] (Omission) Amphibious Assaults are prohibited in the Baltic Sea
during Mud and Snow Game Turns.
- [7.37] (Clarification) Ground Combat units on land may assist (at full
strength) an Amphibious Assault, and may take the appropriate losses if
called for by the Combat Results Table.
- [8.12] (Omission) Such units may be returned to the map via Assault (or
Air Transport), or as a reinforcement (see Case 8.52).
- [8.26] (Correction) Airborne units dropped via Air Assault partially do
own the hex they are dropped into if the hex is unoccupied by Enemy
units. The Paratroop units do block retreats, but do NOT block supply.
The dropped units do not have a zone of control into the surrounding six
hexes. An airborne unit may not be dropped either into a combat
situation or into an unoccupied hex if there is no chance for the unit
to be in Supply at the end of the Air Interdiction Phase.
- [8.29] (Addition) An airborne unit being used in an Air Assault is
halved on Attack Strength during the combat phase of the drop. Note
that attacks at odds less than 1-2 are prohibited.
- [8.32] Delete this Case.
- [8.52] (Clarification) An airborne unit in the Available Airborne Units
Box on one Front may transfer to the Available Airborne Units Box on
another Front and be ready for Air Assault on the next turn; i.e., the
transfer takes one turn.
- [9.13] (Clarification) Zones of Control of Armored and mechanized units
do extend out of Rough/Woods/Swamp hexes into surrounding Clear Terrain.
- [9.25] (Omission) Until the completion of the first Movement Phase
triggering the violation of one country by another, Zones of Control do
not extend across border hexsides. NOTE: Zones of Control do extend
across border hexsides for those countries which are belligerents at the
start of a scenario.
- [11.16] (Addition) Only units physically deployed on a map section may
be involved in combat (Russian units may not fight back onto the eastern
map-edge, nor Allied units onto the southern map-edge).
- [12.1] (Omission) When units of nationalities using different Combat
Results Tables combine in an attack, the attack is resolved on the
Combat Results Table most favorable to the attacker.
- [12.2] (Clarification) When a combat result forces a stack of units to
retreat, the Player who owns the retreating stack may split up the stack
and send the units making it up into different hexes. He must split up
the stack if there is no other way to prevent his units from being
overstacked at the end of the Combat Phase.
- [12.63] (Clarification) Only kampfgruppen or battlegroups formed in
this manner may be so retreated.
- [12.7 and Combat Results Table] (Clarification) A DE results causes the
unit to form a battlegroup or kampfgruppe if it can, and not removed
from play as per the Combat Results Table.
- [12.7] (Clarification) A kampfgruppe or battle group formed by
exercising the Retreat Conversion Option may not be retreated (exception
to 12.63). It may advance as per 12.5.
- [12.7] (Clarification) In a multiple hex battle, different options
cannot be applied to the units in different hexes. If the defender or
attacker applies the Retreat Conversion Option, then all units of that
side involved in that specific combat must do the same. However, the
attacker needs to meet the required losses only once - not for each hex.
- [12.8] (Addition) At any time during the game, any Player may disband
any of his units by moving them to a port in Great Britain (if Allied),
by moving them to a Training Center (if Soviet), or by moving them to a
Wehrkreiss (if Axis). There is no penalty other than the loss of the
- [13.29] (Addition) In order to have air superiority combat on a Front,
opposing Players must have supplied hexes within 12 hexes of each other,
with no intervening neutral territory. For example: if Germany invades
Yugoslavia prior to Italian entry, the Axis and Allies are more than 12
hexes apart; therefore, no Air War is possible.
- [13.32] (Clarification) Each Air Point may attack as many units as pass
within range with Air Point losses extracted before the next Air-Sea
Interdiction die-roll. Both the embarkation and debarkation hexes can
be Air-Sea Interdicted.
- [13.34] (Example) e.g., the Axis Player has seven Air Points assigned
to Sea Superiority on the South Front. During Tactical Air Combat Phase
he may attempt to suppress Malta with a maximum of five of these Air
Points. Additional Port Suppressions may be done with the remaining two.
During the Sea Movement Phase of the Allied Player Turn, the Allied
Player attempts to move five units by sea within Air Range of a Friendly
supplied Axis hex. The Axis Player may attack sequentially each of the
Allied units. He may attack the first unit with five Air Points, with
any losses applied immediately after the die-roll. Assuming a D result,
he may attack the second of the five Allied units with the same five Air
Points, etc., until all five Allied units have been attacked. Assuming
an A result, the Axis Player may attack the next Allied unit with the
four surviving Air Points plus one of the "two" unused Air Points,
total of five Air Points. He may continue to attack sequentially with
as many remaining Air Points as he has (maximum five per attack) until
all Allied units have been attacked. No unit may be attacked twice, nor
are any attacks mandatory.
[13.9] (Addition) AIR ATTRITION
- [13.91] During the Air Superiority Case of the Tactical Air Combat
Phase of each Game Turn, if there is no Air Combat, Air Attrition can
occur. Air Combat occurs when two opposing Players fly Air Superiority
on the same Front, and neither side has greater than a 6-1 combat
superiority (example: 37-6 is greater than a 6-1 superiority). NOTE:
The reason for doing this is to prevent a Player from flying just a few
Air Points to avoid attrition. There is no Air Combat when either
Player has a 6-1 or greater superiority, or only one Player flies Air
Superiority; in the former case, Air Points assigned to other missions
remain assigned to those missions. Air Attrition always occurs to the
Axis and Commonwealth Air Points on the West Front, to the United States
and Italian Air Points on the Southern Front separately when each is a
belligerent, to the Commonwealth when they are engaged in Ground Combat
on the South Front (Ground Combat units in adjacent hexes), and to the
Axis and Sov iet Air Points when the Sovi et Player is at Total War on
the East Front.
- [13.92] The Air Points that are lost due to Air Attrition are removed
at the beginning of the Strategic Cycle. On each separate Game-Turn,
each Player totals the number of Air Points in that Front that either
were flying Air-Superiority Missions, or were inactive (i.e., not flying
other missions besides Air-Superiority). During the Strategic Cycle,
the available Air Points are totaled for the last four turns, and losses
are removed by the following table:
|Total # Friendly Air Points Total # Enemy Air Available for Air Attrition/Cycle
|Total # Friendly Air Points Total # Enemy Air Lost/Cycle
Please send comments and corrections via to Wargame
- [13.93] There is a maximum number of Air Points which may be assigned to
Air Superiority per Player, per Front. In two- and three-Player games, Soviet
and Allied Air Points are counted separately. The maximum for the East Front
is 30 Air Points, for the South Front is 60 Air Points, and for the West Front
is 120 Air Points.
- [14.15] (Addition) Naval Supply can be traced for the Axis Player during
the Allied/Soviet Combat Phase.
- [14.4] (Clarification) When tracing Supply paths, the Movement Point Cost
does not include Movement Penalty for Air Interdiction or Zones of Control.
- [14.4] (Clarification) A Supply path is traced from Supplyhead to Supplyhead,
with each Supplyhead determining the maximum distance between it and the item
being supplied. For example: a unit being supplied from a Mobile Supply unit
may trace a maximum of 10 Movement Points from the unit to the Mobile Supply
unit; however, if the Mobile Supply unit in turn traces to a Minor Port, the
maximum distance between the Mobile Supply unit and the Minor Port is four
Movement Points, as determined by the constraint s on the Minor Port. The
maximum distance between the original unit and Mobile Supply Unit is still
10 Movement Points.
- [14.41] (Clarification) Terrain, Weather and Weather Areas are the only
factors which are counted when determining the length of a Supply path; Zones
of Control, Air Interdiction Markers, etc., are ignored for this purpose (exception:
Case 14.52; Ref: Case 14.5, Blocking Supply).
- [14.41] (Correction) A Supply path traced to an Amphibious Point being used
as a Minor port may be a maximum of one hex, not one Movement Point.
- [14.42] (Clarification) No more than one Mobile Supply unit may be included
in a Line of Supply (Ref: Case 14.4) being traced in the Severe Weather Area.
No more than one Mobile Supply unit may be part of a Supply path being traced
to s Supplyhead in a Severe Weather Area.
- [14.44] (Clarification) A Naval Transport Point is not required to trace
Supply over Water hexes (exception: Case 37.57).
- [14.6] (Addition) Exception: Air and Amphibious Ranges may be traced from
- [15.1] (Clarification) Mobile Supply units in Severe Weather Areas may move
only by Rail or due to combat during Snow Game-Turns.
- [15.1] (Addition) Sweden does not enjoy the Severe Weather Area Combat and
Movement benefits that the Finns and Russians do.
- [15.1] (Clarification) Rail Line repair and conversion are affected by weather.
- [15.1] Page 16 (Typo Correction) Add "*" to: Snow Game Turn: Movement
Allowance is reduced to half value of all mechanized and motorized units (*).
- [15.1] (Addition) Blocked Lake hexsides are unblocked when frozen. This
also applies to 77.2.
- [15.2] (Omission) INTER-AREA RESTRICTIONS
- Units moving from one Weather Area to another have their Movement Allowance
and Supply Range determined according to the hex in which they begin the Movement
Phase. A unit's Supply state and Combat Strength (due to Weather effects)
are determined at the moment of combat. A unit attacking across a Weatherline
has its Supply state and Attack Strength determined according to the hex which
the attacking unit occupies.
- [17.25] & [7.27] (Clarification) A Player may spend two Replacement
Points to rebuild the referenced units even if he has fewer than six total
Replacement Points of the appropriate type.
- [17.3] (Omission) REPLACEMENT POINT INTER-FRONT TRANSFER
- Replacement Points are transferred from one Front to another Front during
the Reinforcement/ Replacement Phase of each Player-Turn.
- [18.0] (Clarification) GENERAL RULE: The Cycle Date given (1/8/40) applies
only to a historical game beginning 3/5/40. In other Scenarios, French units
may fortify beginning 10 Game-Turns after an Axis unit has entered any hex
of Belgium or France, or has attacked a Belgian or French unit.
- [18.0] (Correction) Delete reference to Soviet units (see Case 74.57 for
- [18.0] (Correction) A Fortified unit affects the Defense Strength of a Friendly
infantry unit of the same nationality as the Fortified unit.
- [18.0] (Clarification) An Air-Sea Interdiction attack against French or
Belgian units, or land attacks against these units in German territory, will
not trigger the ability of the French to fortify.
- [18.26] (Omission) Infantry units may not fortify in hexes containing non-destroyed
Go to the Wargame
Academy main page